General Information

Young researchers are invited to apply for post-doctoral fellowship under the Chair. Applicants must have been awarded doctorates within less than five years preferably. Applicants' theses may be on any topic within the fields of the law of the sea or port law. The appointment is for a period of one year, which may be renewed twice if the output requirements set by the Chair are met. It is not necessary for the fellow to reside in Nelson Mandela Bay, but preference will be given to applicants who are in a position to do so.

The Chair is particularly interested in applicants who can contribute to current work on the legal aspects of marine spatial planning, maritime safety and maritime security, including fisheries crime.

Letters of application, together with a CV, a copy of the thesis, a copy of other research outputs and a one-page outline of the proposed research, must be emailed to the Chair’s incumbent, Prof Patrick Vrancken, at


Current Post-doctoral Fellows:

1. Dr Denning Metuge

2. Dr Obinna Nkomadu

3. Dr Tajudeen Sanni






Last update on 17 July 2020. AA

Contact information
Ms Ammaarah Abrahams
Administrative assistant